The 4 Stages of Enlightenment: How To Get There

Perhaps because it's a complicated subject that real enlightenment can only come from a lifetime of personal spiritual practice. However, there are four major stages of How to Get There: Awareness, Mindfulness, Stillness, and Nirvana. There are four main stages in How to get Enlightened. These include: Illumination, Liberation, Integration, and Selfless Awareness.

In this article:

Who Is This Guide For?

The 4 Stages Of Enlightenment

The Before the stages

Enlightenment Stage - 1 (Sotapanna)

Enlightenment Stage - 2 (Sakadagami)

Enlightenment Stage - 3 (Anagami)

Enlightenment Stage - 4 (Arahant)

Interesting Facts

Who is this guide for?

This guide is for those who want to know how to get enlightened and what it really means. However, it is also for those who are already enlightened.

This guide will help all understand how to be enlightened. It is true that you have to live in this world for many years before you attain enlightenment. In the past, there were thousands of years of blind ignorance, when people had no idea what they should do and what the truth is. 

When they finally realised that they were ignorant and lived in darkness, they tried to find a way to be enlightened. In ancient China, Tibet and India, monks and nuns practiced meditation for hundreds of years. Today, millions of people have achieved enlightenment. 

The 4 Stages Of Enlightenment


1. Awareness

2. Mindfulness

3. Stillness

4. Nirvana

The Before the stages

1. Illumination

2. Liberation

3. Integration

4. Selfless Awareness

The Ordinary Person

A person that you would meet can appear quite normal. Although these people have some unusual attitudes, they are like any other person. They might be in a religious or spiritual community. They might have a good relationship with family members. These people's lives might have some problems, but most of the time, they have a normal, ordinary life.

The average person is a combination of ignorance and wisdom. He is not enlightened. He does not know how to be enlightened and can only guess what it is, but through study they can go through the 4 stages of how to get enlightened.

A common view is that the ordinary person has little control over their mind and is unable to escape from their suffering, although some Buddhists view most ordinary people as having this ability.

The Noble Person

The noble persons are people who actually know how to become enlightened. They are like unto the wise. They can see things clearly and are not confused by anything. They have some unusual attitudes, but they have a good relationship with the universe. They have a good relationship with the universe.

Noble persons are those who know what enlightenment really means and go on to begin their training of the path with true devotion. To be noble is to have qualities of character. According to Aristotle, 'noble' (kalo) signifies 'excellent', 'great', or 'best'. However, Aristotle did not agree with Plato's theory that a virtuous person would be just and temperate, a good citizen and a good ruler. He claimed that true nobility was based on the quality of character. He defined this as 'excellence' or 'excellency' (aretē), which included moral qualities. "To be noble" means to have certain character traits, like honesty, courage, justice, temperance, and charity. These are necessary for the common good.

The First Stage Of Enlightenment (Sotapanna)

The first stage of awareness is to notice. Awareness is the most important thing for a person to know how to be enlightened. When we get in this world, we notice everything. In order to be enlightened, the awareness must be right.

When we go into a room, this is the first stage, we notice everything. In order to be enlightened, the mind must be right.

If you don't have the awareness to notice, then you will never be enlightened. One can only be enlightened by knowing and realising what is true. Therefore, we need to pay attention to the things that are happening in the world around us. And we should know that everything is possible.

The Second Stage Of Enlightenment (Sakadagami)

When the awareness is there, the mind must be aware. If you don't notice that something is happening around you, then you cannot understand it and you cannot know anything. Then you are just like all unenlightened people.

If we notice the things on a day-to-day basis, then we understand that everything is possible. It is possible to do whatever you want, and you can become whoever you want. The mind must be aware of what is happening in the universe, and it must know whether or not it can go beyond these things.

The Third Stage Of Enlightenment (Anagami)

The stillness is the state of mind. When the mind is aware and we can become aware of the stillness, then the stillness comes. 

The Fourth Stage Of Enlightenment (Arahant)

Nirvana is a state of perfect happiness and nothingness. It is an eternal state of mind that is difficult to achieve, but not impossible. To reach Nirvana is the ultimate aim of all spiritual paths. It can be achieved through meditation, prayer, or by seeking out peace and tranquility.

Interesting facts:


The stream-enterer is also said to have "opened the eye of the Dharma" because their attainment of enlightenment will guarantee that they will be able to attain enlightenment in every life time.


Once-returners will only be born once in the human world.


A non-returner is a person who does not return to take the higher (less common) path. Non-returners are like people who have heard about the existence of God, but have not been taught to believe.


Arhats are the fully enlightened, and the name means 'one who has reached the end'. There are seven Arhats in the sutras, and there are a total of four Arhats in Buddhism.


The word 'Hindu' is derived from the word 'Sanskrit'. It means "the people who speak the language of the Vedas". There are many authentic Hindu traditions, but the most popular one is called the Brahmanical tradition.


Buddha means 'awakened one' or 'enlightened one'.

Discover more: